A Fresh Start

Matthew 1616


There are five kinds of Baptism in the New Testament:

1.John the Baptist’s Baptism – of repentance for the remission of sins (Mark 1:4-5; Acts 19:3-4).
2.Jesus’ Baptism – for the fulfillment of all righteousness (Matthew 3:13-17).
3.Baptism of Fire – figuratively signifying purification and sanctification (Matthew 3:11).
4.Baptism of the Holy Spirit – for acceptance and empowerment (Acts 2:1-4; 10:44-46).
5.The Great Commission or Christian Baptism – for the remission of sins of those who believed in Jesus and the indwelling presence of the Holy Spirit in their lives. (Mark 16:16; Matthew 28:18—20)


  1. Baptism came from the Greek word BAPTIZO which means:

1.1. To immerse

1.2. To submerge

1.3. To dip or plunge into the water

  1. The symbol or picture of Baptism is the death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Romans 6:2-4; Colossians 2:12

  1. The importance of Baptism: Acts 2:37-38; 22:16; I Peter 3:21

—-Baptism is a command BUT it is more of a promise.


  1. Who should be baptized? Mark 16:16; Acts 16:30-33
  2. When should a believer be baptized? Acts 22:16; II Corinthians 6:1-2
  3. Where baptism should be held? Mark 1:9: Acts 8:36-39

—Where there is enough water for immersion.

  1. Practical Needs in Baptism


Write a comment:


Your email address will not be published.

© 2015 Christ's Corridor | Red Deer
Follow us: